Wedgwood antique teapots, identifying vintage jasperware

Want a piece of history? It is amazing that these antique teapots go for such little money. The craftsmanship of Wedgwood pottery is evident and you can see the mastery that went into the detail and figure application – and being about 150 years old they seem like a good value if you can interpret the pottery marks on it and evaluate the damage such as cracks, chips and repair. For example, a cobalt blue jasperware from 1889 should be a great value (these types go for about $150-$300 depending on condition) for someone wanting to collect antique pottery of the late 19th century vintage. I love drinking my tea and wondering about all the other people through the history have enjoyed a cup of tea out of the same pot (although some might think that is strange!)
Tips on identifying old Wedgwood pottery: if it was made after about 1891 it should have “england” or “made in england” stamped on the bottom of it so if it is missing that, you know it is 1890 or older.
For dating Wedgwood pottery that has a three letter code stamped on the bottom: the last letter determines the year of manufacture with “O” indicating 1860 and each letter further up the alphabet increases the date by one year, so “P” would be 1861, “Q” 1862 and so on…

Even if you can’t afford a 19th century vintage Wedgwood  everyone can easily afford versions made as late as the 1970’s – selling on auction websites for $25 or less.

Oh yeah, don’t forget that there is no “E” in Wedgwood. A common mistake is for people to type Wedgewood instead. You might try searching for both variations to catch some real finds by people selling stuff they don’t know the value of. Good luck and happy searching!

15 thoughts on “Wedgwood antique teapots, identifying vintage jasperware

  1. I have a teapot that is brown and only has wedwood on the bottom with a sort of parentheses at an angle under it and to the side at an angle. It has the black design around the middle and he lid. Can you help?
    Marian

    • aside from the standard marks there are a ton of “potters marks” , all of which are not even cataloged. rest assured though it is pre a certain date if it doesn’t have “england” on it and without the three letter code it is probably pre 1870. good luck!

  2. Hi,
    I collect wedgwood jasperware as a hobbie but haven’t really got any of the older stuff (not rich enough!). Most of the things I have are 1970’s era, infact I think they all are to be honest. However I have been trying to find someone else who has this plate I recently bought, but no one seems to have it. I’m beginning to think it might be fake (which I would be really disheartened if it is) and was really hoping you might be able to help me out? The plate is 11cm in diameter with a sort of acorn pattern in white around the edge of the plate (seems quite normal). In the middle however, is a gate with a crown on top. It looks almost identical to what you can find on a one pence piece. I have noticed, the “Wedgwood, Made in England” is not in “Sans serif” font which apparently came about in the 20th century. I’ve been researching for days now and am beginning to convince myself it is fake. One other thing, it looks like later on some writing on the bottom has been added in gold that says, “British Group Inter-Parliamentary Union.”

    If you could get back to me I would be really grateful
    Thankyou
    Iona Gibson

  3. I have a small box with a lid in dark blue jasper porcelain with with two separate marks and one letter and one stamp. They are: “Made in England”, “Wedgwood”, “L” or what appears to be an “L” and a stamps that looks like a small “o” but the “o” is a solid stamp without that doesn’t resemble a capital letter but rather a small stamp.

  4. Hi,

    I have a green Jasper ware trinket box marked “Wegewood” “Made In England” with an “HR” mark. No year is specified. Can anyone tell me what year this piece may have been manufactured in?

    Thanks!

  5. Correction:

    I have a green Jasper Ware trinket box marked “Wedgwood” “Made In England” with an “HR” marking. No year is specified. Can anyone tell me what year this piece may have been manufactured in?

    Thank you again!

  6. I have a practical question. Do people actually use jasperware tea pots for tea? I have a sage green teapot that I have been only looking at. I’m afraid that if I brew tea in it I’ll ruin it. Is thre a way to safely remaove stains?

    • Regular use will patina any object in new condition but I think they could hold up to what they were made to do. I would figure out how much it is worth and balance that with how much you would like to loose in depreciation. Ultimately I feel if one loves Wedgweood teapots it would be a shame just to leave it in a display cabinet.
      Thanks for reading!

      • Thanks for your reply. I have glazed Wedgwood that I use unrestrainedly. When a piece gets a little dingy I fill it with dilute bleach solution, and in a few minutes it’s as bright as new. I haven’t tried bleach on unglazed ware, and I don’t know how vitreus the jasperware is, wouldn’t want the liquid soaking into the body. Hmmm.. maybe I could pick up a damaged jw. piece to experiment with before I risk the teapot.

  7. I have an Olive colored teapot with blue design of grapes circling the pot. It is stamped NBU with an F off to the side! No white detail in the entire piece! Will you please help me with dating this piece? Thank you!

  8. I have two pieces of Jasperware. One I can identify, Cupid on plinth, but the other is a mystery and I need help! It is a vase of sorts with two cylindrical openings and a small child or cherub is sitting between the two openings. My grandfather worked for Wedgwood as a painter from approximately 1901 to 1911. I would attach a picture but can’t see an option to do so on here.

    • Hi Carole, I would be honored to have your wedgwood-painting grandfather shown in this post. did he mark or sign the pieces he worked on?
      You can insert an image but it has to be hosted on another site and linked to so it takes another step. or you can email me the pic w/ permission to publish on this webpage which I don’t currently generate revenue from.

  9. Hello. I would truly appreciate if you helped me with some details regarding my box. I bought it from a car boot sale when i came to visit England. It s a two pieces blue egg-shaped box with with some white flowers and cameo woman on the top. It doesn`t have any data or mark on it, so i thought of asking someone who might know. Here is a link with a similar product which say that it is a Wedgwood trinket box , which didn` t convince me because it didn`t have any data or mark on it. If it s not Wedgwood, can it be valuable as well ? Can you tell me with how much it would sell? Thank you.

    http://sherrysantiquebottles.homestead.com/vanity.html

  10. I would love to find out about the cameo box Gabriel above asked about. Is this real Wedgwood Jasperware. I also purchased such an egg trinket box and it has no markings underneath.

Leave a Reply

