Idiots Rule

I was walking to the station today listening to a podcast of a talk by Dale Pendell called “Horizon Anarchism.” Just as he was talking about the inevitability of less than desirable people becoming rulers, a guy walked by wearing a t-shirt that said, “Idiots Rule.”

Normally this would have been a slightly above average Engrish t-shirt sighting in Japan. I would have chuckled inside, taken a mental note, and continued on with my business. But the timing suggested synchronistic communication in the unconscious. Yes, I know, it’s just a coincidence, right? But why not try to calculate the odds of such a coincidence? My intuition tells me it’s highly improbable.
Please correct me if I’m wrong, and share with me your calculations.

I have had hundreds of these kinds of synchronicities in my life, including other t-shirt incidents in Japan. So, of course, I have often wondered what they mean, or why they happen. I have come to the tentative conclusion that they are simply reminders from the collective overconscious (formerly known as collective unconscious). They are reminders that the universe is not a Newtonian mechanism, that there is more to life than the daily drudge, that there is a deep connection between inner and outer. I don’t think they are guides telling me where to go next. If they are, I haven’t figured out which way any of them are pointing. No, it seems to me they are more like mile markers, just letting me know where the roads are, or that the road I’m currently on is the right one. Pay attention!

One thought on “Idiots Rule

Leave a Reply

